Home Students Courses Administration Contact Us

  Conducting Courses at CYTC

CYTC Conducting four Major Course all the courses are approved by NAITA under the Vocational Training Act in Sri Lanka. registered with Tertiary and Vocational Education Commission (Reg.No P11/0014) and City & Guilds of UKsee  (Reg.No 844038) to offer C & G International Programmes in 6161 Construction Industry, and Leading to NVQ Level 3 and Level 4 Qualifications Click the Title for More Detailss

:: Motor Mechanics

:: Electrical Wiring and Power Management

:: Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning

:: Computer Applications

:: Household Electrical Appliance Repairer

Students who wants to apply for the courses can be sent your applications through email, fax or post you can submit to our office download your application here and sent to us before the closing date Click here and Download Application (.Doc) 190 KB


 About National Apprentice and Industrial Training Authority (NAITA )

National Apprenticeship Board ( NAB) predecessor to the present National Apprentice and Industrial Training Authority (NAITA) was established in 1971 by an act of Parliament. It was renamed as NAITA functions within the purview of the Ministry of Tertiary Education and Training.

NAITA conduct island wide training programmes aimed at small, medium and large scale enterprises, advise and direction of following board of management appointed by Hon. Minister of Skills Development, Vocational and Technical Education.

 National Vocational Qualifications (NVQ)

National Vocational Qualifications are designed to measure the competency of different vocational skills. The intention of having NVQ is to produce Sri Lankan workforce globally competitive, in order to suit Industry specific, through a standardized Technical and Vocational Education system.

The main objectives of setting up of NVQ are,

1. To recognize Vocational skills locally and Internationally

2. To match and cater Vocational training/ skills with market demand

3. To recognize the certificates those possessed through the NVQ system

4. To create an Internationally competitive workforce in Sri Lanka

The National Vocational Qualification Framework of Sri Lanka (NVQSL) has been established to support the efforts of fulfilling above objectives of NVQ.

National Vocational Qualifications Frame Work of Sri Lanka (NVQSL)

NVQSL is the key element in unifying Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET). The National skill standards are prepared in consultation with the Industry; National Quality Standards for Teaching and the assessment is using the competency based approach and National certification of learners & workers. The NVQSL is benchmarked with the systems of developed countries.

NVQSL has seven levels to qualify. The each level describes the process, learning demand and the responsibility applicable to each level of performance.

An operational manual for NVQSL is compiled by the Tertiary & Vocational Education Commission with the assistance of National Apprentice & Industrial Training Authority (NAITA), Vocational Training Authority (VTA), Department of Technical Education (DTET), National Youth Services Council (NYSC) and National Institute of Technical Education (NITESL). The Manual outlines the agreed policies and processes for the implementation of all components of the NVQSL.

Recognition of skills of Sri Lankan is important to fulfill the requirements of National policy for Human Resources Development. The Skill Development Project (SDP) has initiated with the Government (TVEC) to resolve problems of mismatching training programmes with current market demand, duplication of training provided by institutions and non-availability of an unified standards.

The NVQSL is therefore supporting the sustainable and strategic solutions to National Training needs. As such NVQQSL is now able to achieve International recognition for qualifications of skills those set up by the system and certificates offered by the Institutes.

The NVQSL is aligned with,

National goals
Strengthening of linkage with Industry and other stakeholders
Very sensitive responsiveness to Industry training needs
Convenient and flexible access to potential trainers
More proactive training strategies
Improved and enhanced International recognition and links
Collaboration and rationalization among the training agencies
Developing the NVQSL will ensure that all current and newly defined Technical and Vocational education and training (TVET) activities are coordinated.

Competency Based Training (CBT) curricula and appropriate training, learning and assessment materials are included in the framework, together with the requirements for registration and accreditation for training providers and courses respectively.


Quick Links
Course Details ::  Pictures ::  Application Forms :: Administration :: Donors of CYTC :: Location

Website Developed by M. A. Rohan Benjamin and Maintaining by CYTC 2006